EAC States pledge support for Trade Facilitation Reforms

The EAC Partner States have agreed to promote and support politically full implementation of the trade facilitation reforms and reduce the non-tariff barriers impeding trade in the region.

They reconfirmednational commitments to implement the EAC Customs Union and the Single Customs Territory, accelerate the implementation of the regional decisions and rapidly domesticate them into their national laws and constitutions to achieve the objectives of an integrated market. 

The States made the commitment during the ministerial retreat on trade facilitation in the EAC organized by UNCTAD, Trade Mark East Africa and The East African Secretariat.

They comitted to respect the obligations of the WTO Trade Facilitation Agreement and therefore, ratify the TFA, and notify the TFA measures according to the deadlines set out in the Agreement without delay.

EAC Member States further commited to support the National Trade Facilitation Committees as the main vehicle for the trade facilitation process at national level. They also committed to strengthen the role and capacity of the sub regional committee on trade facilitation to ensure their operationalization.

Through the use of new technologies, the EAC Partner States will simplify the trade procedures for the key products of the region that will ease the import, export and transit of goods within the EAC territory.

EAC Partner States leaders pledged full compliance of the regional protocols with the CFTA and the harmonization of the trade negotiations at continental level so as to pursue the extension of the continental scheme.

Uganda was represented by Minister for Cooperatives Frederick Ngobi Gume, Kenya by Trade Permanent Secretary Dr. Chris Kiptoo, Tanzania by Ambassador Dr. Pindi Chana among other leaders.


Share this post